Hit & Run Involving Injury

Defendants convicted of a hit-and-run involving injury in Nevada face two to 20 years in prison, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, and a driver’s license revocation. The crime is a category B felony.

The guilty driver will face separate hit-and-run charges for every individual injured in the accident. In hit-and-run involving injury cases, the court cannot suspend the prison sentence or grant probation for any reason.

What Is A Hit & Run?

If a driver hits another car or cars without stopping to provide first aid and exchanging vehicle and contact information, then they may be found guilty of committing a hit-and-run.

Under Nevada state law, a driver involved in a car accident is required to:

  • Provide their name, address, vehicle registration number, and driver’s license to the other driver and any police at the scene
  • Provide aid to injured individuals, such as carrying them to safety and/or calling 911 for an ambulance

Rules For Notifying Police After a Hit-and-Run Involving Injury

If a car accident causes death, bodily injury, or property damage of $750 or more, the driver is required to notify Metro Las Vegas Police. Failure to do so could result in criminal hit-and-run charges.

Common Hit & Run Accident Injuries

A hit-and-run car accident can cause the following injuries and illnesses:

  • Brain injuries
  • Bruising
  • Concussions
  • Burns
  • Broken bones
  • Scarring
  • Disfiguration
  • Facial injuries (such as a broken nose or jaw, laceration, tooth loss, and facial deformities)
  • Neck injuries
  • Whiplash
  • Loss of limbs, or amputation
  • Wrist and hand injuries
  • Leg and foot injuries
  • Post-traumatic stress
  • Back injuries, such as a ruptured disc, herniated disc, or pinched nerve
  • Paralysis
  • Internal bleeding
  • Pain and distress
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Nerve damage

An accident injury can cause a variety of symptoms, including swelling, nausea, vomiting, headaches, vision problems, blood in the urine, racing pulse, fever, numbness, weakness, hits to the head, hits to the abdomen, pain, shallow vision, tingling, fatigue, dizziness, irritability, difficulty concentrating, memory issues, difficulty sleeping, and personality changes.

Possible Defense in Las Vegas Hit & Run Involving Injury

In Nevada, prosecutors have up to three years to file felony hit-and-run charges. In hit-and-run cases involving injury, a defense attorney may be able to argue that the defendant:

  • Wasn’t in the accident and wasn’t required to stop.
  • Was unaware they were involved in an accident.
  • Sufficiently fulfilled all legal obligations.
  • Was too incapacitated after the accident to stop, exchange information, and provide aid to the other driver(s).

A hit-and-run case involving injury is typically built with evidence from GPS car data, traffic surveillance video, eyewitness accounts, and smartphone videos taken by people at the scene. An experienced defense attorney will gather, review, and present the evidence necessary to reduce or dismiss charges of a hit-and-run involving injury.

Why Call Moskal Law

Thomas Moskal is an experienced vehicular crimes attorney who understands the complexities of the legal system. He previously served as the Chief Deputy District Attorney for Clark County’s Vehicular Crimes Unit, trying a variety of cases. His experience as a prosecutor showed him the need for experienced defense attorneys to fight for the rights of individuals charged with hit-and-run involving injury. Give Moskal Law a call today to schedule a consultation.

Schedule a Consultation

    Contact Moskal LawCall, text, or leave a message

    Moskal-Law-Logo
    1980 Festival Plaza Dr, Suite 300, Las Vegas, NV 89135

    Follow Me:

    Review Us

    Disclaimer: The information contained on this website is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice on any matter.

    Copyright © 2022 Moskal Law, All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | ADA Disclaimer | Powered by: Dynamo Web Solutions