Weapons charges in Nevada encompass a range of crimes, from illegally shooting firearms and drawing firearms, to illegally possessing, making, and selling firearms.
Penalties For Possessing a Firearm in a Prohibited Location
Americans have the right to bear arms in most locations, except public airports, planes, childcare facilities, public and private schools, Nevada System of Higher Education property, legislative buildings, post offices, VA facilities, federal facilities, military bases, and the Hoover Dam, with some exceptions.
Possessing a firearm in a prohibited location is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and community service.
Penalties For Shooting Firearms
Defendants convicted of shooting a gun from inside a vehicle or structure in a wanton or malicious way in a populated area commit a category B felony and face two to 15 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Shooting a firearm in an unpopulated area, or into an abandoned vehicle or structure is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Discharging a firearm into an occupied vehicle or building is a category B felony punishable by one to six years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Penalties For Aiming or Drawing Firearms
A defendant convicted of assaulting a person with a gun will face one to six years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. This is considered a category B felony.
Aiming a gun at an individual is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and/or up to $2,000 in fines.
Brandishing a firearm in a threatening manner is also a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or up to $1,000 in fines.
Penalties For Possessing, Making, and Selling Firearms
In Nevada, it is a category C felony to sell or give a firearm to an illegal alien, mentally ill individual, felon, fugitive, or person indicted for a felony. The crime is punishable by one to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Defendants convicted of knowingly possessing, making, or disposing of a short-barreled rifle or shotgun, a category D felony, face up to 364 days in jail and/or up to $2,000 in fines.
Penalties For Theft and Altered Serial Numbers
Intentionally altering a firearm’s serial number is considered a category C felony that may be punished with one to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Defendants who knowingly possess a gun with a changed serial number face category D felony charges punishable by one to four years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Stealing a gun is considered a category B felony punishable by one to 10 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, and victim restitution.
Why Call Moskal Law
Thomas Moskal has successfully represented many defendants facing weapons charges in Nevada. Give him a call today to schedule a consultation and get the legal representation you deserve.