In Nevada, DUI Causing Death is a class B felony offense. A driver under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs who causes death to another driver, passenger, or pedestrian may face penalties of two to 20 years in state prison, fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,000, and a three-year driver’s license suspension.
Legal Terms Of DUI Causing Death In Nevada
A DUI causing death occurs when the driver meets one of the following conditions:
- Driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor
- Blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more
- Has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more within two hours after driving or being in physical control of a vehicle
- Driving under the influence of a controlled substance or under the combined influence of a controlled substance and intoxicating liquor
- Inhaling, ingesting, applying, or using a chemical, poison, or organic solvent, or any combination of these, to the point of being incapable of safely driving or controlling a vehicle
- Having a prohibited substance in the blood or urine in an illegal amount
It’s important to note that defendants in fatal DUI cases may not be charged with murder.