In Nevada, a felony DUI 3rd offense comes with serious consequences. If convicted, a defendant can face one to six years in state prison and a fine ranging from $2,000 to $5,000. In addition, the defendant must attend a Victim Impact Panel and complete an alcohol/drug dependency evaluation and possible rehab. Their license will be revoked for three years and once they begin driving, they must use a breath interlock device in their vehicle for one to three years.
A defendant can face charges of a third-time DUI if:
DUI stands for driving under the influence and occurs when one or more of the following is true:
Pleading guilty or no contest to a 3rd DUI requires signing an admonishment of rights form. This means that any future DUI arrests will be charged as felonies even if the violation didn’t cause any injuries or death.
A third DUI in Nevada will lead to the revocation of the defendant’s license for three years following the arrest. However, defendants may be able to obtain a restricted license after one year.
Even if the charges are dismissed in criminal court, the DMV may still suspend the defendant’s license. To contest the suspension, the defendant’s attorney must attend a DMV administrative hearing.
In Nevada, prosecutors cannot reduce or dismiss DUI charges unless the defense attorney can prove the evidence is too weak to support a conviction.
The defense strategies in these cases will vary, but may include the following:
If you’re facing felony DUI 3rd offense charges, contact Moskal Law to schedule a consultation. Thomas Moskal has the experience you need to fight your case.
Disclaimer: The information contained on this website is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice on any matter.