Misdemeanor Reckless Driving

In Nevada, a misdemeanor reckless driving conviction is punishable by 8 DMV demerit points, $250 to $1,000 in fines, and a possible six month jail sentence.

What is Reckless Driving?

Reckless driving can include the following activities:

  • Driving in an “unauthorized speeding contest” (such as street racing)
  • Unauthorized “trick driving displays”
  • Driving “in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property”
  • Evading or failing to yield to a police officer

A driver can be charged for reckless driving on any highway or road open to the public. This means reckless driving on public parking lots is also punishable by law.

Other Forms of Reckless Driving

Reckless driving may result in a collision with a pedestrian or cyclist. These violations include:

  • Failing to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk
  • Failing to drive carefully near bicyclists and pedestrians
  • Disobeying the directions of a school crossing guard
  • Making a U-turn in a school zone or exceeding 15 miles per hour in a school zone, while school is in session

Committing any of these violations and hitting a pedestrian or cyclist is considered reckless driving.

What is Willful or Wanton Disregard?

The term “willful” refers to conduct that is intentional or purposeful. “Wanton” means the driver understood but disregarded the consequences of their conduct.

Penalties For Reckless Driving Offenses

The penalties for reckless driving are tied to the offense.

First offense: up to six months in jail and/or $250 to $1,000 in fines.

Second offense: up to six months in jail and/or $1,000 to $1,500 in fines.

Third offense: up to six months in jail and/or $1,500 to $2,000 in fines.

A reckless driving conviction also comes with eight demerit points added to the driver’s record. Accruing 12 or more points within one year will result in a six-month license suspension.

Penalties For Reckless Driving Offenses Involving Collisions

Reckless driving that results in a collision can lead to the following penalties.

First offense: up to six months in jail, $250 to $1,000 in fines, and 50 to 99 hours of community service.

Second offense: up to six months in jail, $1,000 to $1,500 in fines, and 100 to 199 hours of community service.

Third offense: up to six months in jail, $1,500 to $2,000 in fines, and 200 hours of community service.

All collision-related reckless driving convictions will lead to a license suspension lasting six months to two years. A judge can also order vehicle impoundment for 15 days for a first offense and 30 days for a driver convicted of a second or subsequent violation.

Penalties For Trick Driving Offenses

A trick driving conviction is a gross misdemeanor.

First offense: up to 364 days in jail, $1,000 to $1,500 in fines, and 100 to 199 hours of community service.

Second or subsequent offense: up to 364 days in jail, $1,500 to $2,000 in fines, and 200 hours of community service.

The driver’s license may also be suspended for six months to two years. In addition, the driver’s vehicle may be impounded for 30 days.

Why Call Moskal Law

Thomas Moskal has experience prosecuting vehicular crimes cases in Nevada and knows what it takes to fight for the rights of a defendant charged with misdemeanor reckless driving. Call Moskal Law today to schedule a consultation and get the representation you deserve.

Schedule a Consultation

    Contact Moskal LawCall, text, or leave a message

    Moskal-Law-Logo
    1980 Festival Plaza Dr, Suite 300, Las Vegas, NV 89135

    Follow Me:

    Review Us

    Disclaimer: The information contained on this website is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice on any matter.

    Copyright © 2022 Moskal Law, All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | ADA Disclaimer | Powered by: Dynamo Web Solutions