A hit-and-run involving death in Nevada is a category B felony punishable with two to 20 years in prison, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, and a driver’s license revocation. The driver faces separate hit-and-run charges for every individual killed in the accident. The court is not allowed to suspend the prison sentence or grant probation for any reason.
Definition of a Hit & Run
A hit-and-run is when a driver hits another car or cars without stopping to provide first aid and exchanging vehicle and contact information. Nevada state law requires a driver to:
Provide their name, address, vehicle registration number, and driver’s license to the other driver and any police at the scene
Provide aid to injured individuals, such as carrying them to safety and/or calling an ambulance
If the driver hits unattended property, such as a parked vehicle or fence, they must stop and attempt to find the property owner. If they’re unable to find the owner, then they must leave a conspicuous note with their name and address.
Notifying Police of a Hit-and-Run Involving Death
Nevada law requires drivers to notify Metro Las Vegas Police if a car accident results in one of the following:
If police arrive at the scene and file an accident report, then the driver isn’t required to file a report.
Possible Defense in Las Vegas Hit & Run Involving Death
Nevada prosecutors have three years to file felony hit-and-run charges.
A defense attorney may be able to argue that the defendant:
Wasn’t involved in the accident and wasn’t required to stop.
Didn’t know they were involved in an accident.
Sufficiently fulfilled all legal obligations.
Was too incapacitated after the accident to stop, exchange information, and provide aid.
A hit-and-run case will typically draw evidence from traffic surveillance video, GPS car data, eyewitness account, and smartphone videos taken by people at the scene. An experienced defense attorney will gather the evidence necessary to reduce or dismiss charges of a hit-and-run involving death.
Sealing Criminal Records of Felony Hit-and-Run Convictions
In Nevada, felony hit-and-run convictions may be sealed five years after the case closes. If the charges are dismissed, then there is no wait period for petitioning a record seal.
Why Call Moskal Law
A hit-and-run involving death is a life-changing crime that impacts the victim’s family and the defendant. Dealing with the trauma of the accident and the complexities of the legal system require the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer specializing in vehicular law.
Thomas Moskal served as the Chief Deputy District Attorney for Clark County’s Vehicular Crimes Unit for six years, trying a variety of criminal cases. He taught prosecutors how to prosecute DUIs and trained law enforcement how to properly investigate cases.
The experience of a prosecutor has given Thomas Moskal the insight he needs to ensure defendants receive quality representation and a fair trial. If you’re facing felony hit-and-run charges involving death, you need the expertise of Thomas Moskal. Give Moskal Law a call today to schedule a consultation.